Fischer conducts Shostakovich

Friday, April 27, 2018 7:30PM
Abravanel Hall

Fischer conducts Shostakovich
Tickets Not On Sale

Choose from the list below to jump directly to another offering of
Fischer conducts Shostakovich

Utah Symphony's O.C. Tanner Company Masterworks Series

Single tickets for performances on sale on June 20, 2017 at 10 AM. Group and Subscription tickets on sale starting February 16, 2017.


Experience the fascinating juxtaposition of Shostakovich’s two Piano Concerti with Russian pianist Boris Giltburg, an artist whose “athletic, passionate playing [is] often balanced by tenderness [and] suppleness” ( The all-Shostakovich program concludes with the earth-shattering human and political pathos of his Symphony No. 10.

VENUE: Abravanel Hall, 123 W South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 | Get Directions


Thierry Fischer, conductor
Boris Giltburg, piano
Travis Peterson, trumpet


Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 1
Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 2
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10


RUN TIME: Approximately 2 hours including intermission.
CHILD POLICY: Children 8 years old and older are welcome to our Symphony performances. No babes in arms.

Connecting the Community through Great Live Music.

Perform. Engage. Inspire.